The College Chapel lies adjacent to the college house. It was built by Rev. John Chapman and was opened for worship in 1846. The Chapel was built in the Gothic style of architecture and was modeled on the Chapel of St. John’s College, Cambridge. No other college in the state can boast of a chapel of this kind and of such age. The acoustics of the chapel make speech and song a joy to the ear. The elaborately carved pews, chairs and pulpit complete with candle stand and the wooden paneling in the sanctorum imparts a unique beauty to the chapel. The Chapel Bell is ensconced in the vestry and does not have a separate belfry. A passage way to the College House makes it possible for Principals to spend time in meditation here away from the toil of administration.