Minutes of the Board of Studies

Board of Studies of the Department of Botany was conducted online on 12th March 2021 at 2.00 PM on Google Meet (https://meet.google.co./hdy-sixk-rej.). Following members were present in the meeting.

1. Dr.Rogimon P. Thomas

Chairman of BoS

2 Dr. Mini Chacko

Associate Professor in Botany, CMS College Kottayam

3. Dr.Dennis Thomas T.

Professor, Department of Plant Science, Central University of Kerala, Kasargodu

- 4. Dr. P.M. Radhamany (Department of Botany, University of Kerala, Kariavattom)
- 5. Dr. K. Jayachandran (Professor, School of BioSciences, MG University Kottayam)
- 6. Sri.Robert Raju (Alumni Representative)
- 7. Sri. Bijeshmon P.P. (Manager, Sreedhareeyam Ayurvedic Research&Development Institute)
- 8. Dr.N.Hari (Assistant Professor in Botany, CMS College Kottayam)
- 9. Dr. Elizabeth Cherian (Assistant Professor in Botany, CMS College Kottayam)
- 10. Dr.Basil George (Assistant Professor in Botany, CMS College Kottayam)
- 11. Smt.Christine Sara Abraham (Assistant Professor in Botany, CMS College Kottayam)

Agenda

- 1. Approval of the syllabus of Extra Credit Course
- 2. Discussion on PG Botany Syllabus Revision
- 3. Other matters

Dr.rogimon P. Thomas, the Chairman welcomed the members. Minutes of the previous meeting was read by the Chairperson. After discussions, the following resolutions were taken

Agenda Item No.1

Dr.Basil George, the coordinator, explained the details of the star college scheme funded Extra Credit Course. Dr. Jayachandran suggested including the topic 'Methods of Gene Cloning' in module 4.3. The members suggested that the course is suited to be included at the final year of under graduate programme rather than at the beginning of UG programme. After discussions, it was decided to approve the syllabus of Extra credit course.

Agenda No.2

It was resolved to start the preliminary works of PG Botany syllabus revision in the academic year 2021-22.

Agenda No.3. Other matters arising from the floor

Dr. N. Hari proposed the vote of thanks and the meeting came to a close at 2.45 PM.

Member Secretary

(Read and Confirmed)

Dr.Rogimon P. Thomas

Chairman

Kottayam

12/03/2021