B 31

This panel is one of the non-narrative panels in the relief series at CMS College. It features a central logo of the Church of South India (CSI) and the emblems of four constituent Christian denominations: Anglican, Congregational, Presbyterian, and Methodist. The union ceremony of the Church of South India took place at St George’s Cathedral in Madras on September 27, 1947, one month after India achieved independence from Britain. The central emblem of the CSI is rich in symbolism, captured skillfully by the artist, Tinu, in his rendering. According to textual sources, the logo, which consists of a centrally placed Cross embraced by a lotus, represents rooted faith, and the four outstretched hands of the cross symbolize equality. The lotus holds significant metaphorical value in Indian culture, and its incorporation in the logo highlights the indigenous nature of the CSI. The stylized petals of the lotus represent the fiery tongue of the Holy Spirit. Below and above the depiction of the Church of South India, a portion of Jesus’ prayer in John 17:21, “That They All May be One,” is added to emphasize the inclusivity of the faith.

Published On: January 27th, 2024Categories: Relief Sculpture

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Recent Posts